Skip To Content

Information about the Novel Coronavirus

Information and Resources for Parents - COVID-19
Posted on 03/19/2020
 Novel Coronavirus

March 19, 2020

 

Dear Foxborough Families,

 
We as a Foxborough Public School community are committed to helping and supporting our students and families as the COVID-19 pandemic changes many aspects of our lives.  As a parent myself, I realize how stressful this is and can appreciate and understand the levels of apprehension and concern families are feeling.  Clearly we are in an evolving situation and living in uncharted times.

 

The information that follows in this communication is shared with you on behalf of our Mental Health Teams in an effort to help support the well-being of our families. Elementary, Middle and High School Mental Health Teams have been in close collaboration, meeting virtually, to plan and reach out to students and families. The goal of this communication is to provide some helpful tips and resources. Additionally, contact information for school based personnel is provided at the end of this email.  Please reach out to them with questions or concerns.

 

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) emphasizes that children and teens react, in part, based on what they see from the adults around them. In order to be a role model for your child to handle the stress and anxiety that may accompany the COVID-19 pandemic you need to recognize and manage your own stress and anxiety. Please do not neglect your own health during this time.

 

Take the following steps for self-care:

  • Take care of your body– Try to eat healthy well-balanced meals, exercise regularly, and get plenty of sleep.
  • Connect with others- Maintain healthy relationships (phone calls, face timing, texting), and build a strong support system.
  • Take breaks– Try to do activities you usually enjoy.
  • Stay informed–Watch, listen to, or read the news from reliable sources for updates from officials. Avoid too much exposure to news.
  • Seek help when needed– If distress impacts activities of your family, please reach out to the counselor/social worker/school psychologist, and nurse at your building. See clinical staff list at the end of this letter. In the event of a significant mental health crisis which requires immediate attention you can contact the following local resource for support:Riverside Community Care, Youth Mobile Crisis Intervention 1-800-529-5077

    There are many things you can do to support your child

  • Take time to talk with your child or teen about the COVID-19 outbreak. Answer questions and share facts about COVID-19 in a way that your child or teen can understand.
  • Reassure your child or teen.
  • Limit your family’s exposure to news coverage of the event.
  • Try to keep up with regular routines.

    Not all children and teens respond to stress in the same way. Some common changes to watch for include

  • Excessive crying or irritation in younger children
  • Returning to behaviors they have outgrown (for example, toileting accidents or bedwetting)
  • Excessive worry or sadness
  • Unhealthy eating or sleeping habits
  • Irritability and “acting out” behaviors in teens
  • Poor school performance or avoiding school
  • Difficulty with attention and concentration
  • Avoidance of activities enjoyed in the past
  • Unexplained headaches or body pain
  • Use of alcohol, tobacco, or other drugs

We continue to be available to support the students of Foxborough Public Schools. We wish all of our students and families safety and security during this difficult time.

 

Sincerely,

 

Amy A. Berdos, Ed.D.

Superintendent of Schools

berdosa@foxborough.k12.ma.us

 

Contact Information

Elementary Schools:

 

Igo Elementary:  Kristin Siddle, School Counselor, siddlek@foxborough.k12.ma.us  

   Tenika Ortiz, School Counselor/School Psychologist, ortizt@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Burrell Elementary:  Nancy Reynolds, School Counselor, reynoldsn@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Taylor Elementary:  Bianca Jones, School Counselor, jonesb@foxborough.k12.ma.us

 

The Ahern Middle School:

 

Kim McDowell, Districtwide Team Facilitator/Out of District Coordinator, mcdowellk@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Lauren Bailey, School Counselor, grade 5 house A & grade 8, Baileyl@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Melissa Henry, School Counselor, grade 5 house C & grade 7, Henrym@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Kirsten Howden, School Counselor, grade 5 houses B & D, & grade 6

Howdenk@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Lori Normandin, School Social Worker, Normandinl@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Cassandra Rozell-Alba, School Psychologist, rozellc@foxborough.k12.ma.us

 

Foxborough High School:

 

Laureen White, Head of Guidance, whitel@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Erin Healy-Botelho, Guidance/Social Worker, healy-botelhoe@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Mark Cedorchuk, Guidance, cedorchukm@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Marie Foley, Social Worker, foleym@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Chelsea Melanson, Guidance, melansonc@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Bruce Hamilton, Guidance, hamiltonb@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Joe O’Neil, College Admissions Counselor, oneilj@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Jacqui Simmons, School Psychologist, simmonsj@foxborough.k12.ma.us

 

 

Nurses:

Erin Murray, School Nurse Igo, murraye@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Edna Fuller, School Nurse Taylor, fullere@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Linda Mealey, School Nurse Burrell, mealeyl@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Jen Rosenberg, School Nurse Ahern, rosenbergj@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Nicole Quin, School Nurse, quinn@foxborough.k12.ma.us

Angela Murphy, School Nurse FHS, murphya@foxborough.k12.ma.us

 

Resources:

CDC guidance referenced within this email: Click here for preparing and managing stress and anxiety.

 

The National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) published a resource for parents to reference when talking to their children about COVID-19. Click here